Let Our Family Help Yours
Steppacher Law Offices

Essential questions about Pennsylvania workers’ compensation

On Behalf of | May 6, 2022 | Workers' Compensation

Pennsylvania requires that most employers carry workers’ compensation insurance. After an injury on the job, this coverage helps to cover your medical expenses and lost wages so you can recover.

Like many other employees, you likely have questions about your rights and responsibilities when it comes to workers’ comp.

Am I covered?

Employers must provide workers’ compensation coverage for you starting on the date of hire, regardless of whether you are a full-time or part-time worker, unless you fall into one of these categories:

  • Longshoremen
  • Shipyard and harbor workers
  • Railroad workers
  • Federal employees

In some cases, employers may not have to cover domestic, agricultural and volunteer workers. Typically, independent contractors are not able to receive workers’ compensation.

How long do I have to report my injury?

You should inform your employer or manager of your injury within 21 days. If you fail to report the injury within 120 days, you lose your right to receive workers’ compensation.

Can I see my own doctor?

Your employer should post a list of six doctors that you can choose from for your initial visit. You will need to continue to see a company-approved physician for 90 days following the injury. Your employers’ insurer may refuse to pay for any treatment with a different medical professional during the 90-day period.

Afterward this initial period, you may switch to a doctor of your choice. Additionally, if your employer fails to provide a list of approved doctors, you are free to choose one yourself.

Workers’ compensation is an essential means for many employees like you to recover after an on-the-job injury. Understanding the ins and outs of the Pennsylvania workers’ compensation process, including appeals for denied claims, can help ensure a beneficial outcome.