Workplace injuries can have a serious impact on all aspects of your life, from causing added pain and discomfort, to putting you in stressful financial situations. It’s important to take action immediately after suffering an injury on the job.
1. Report the injury
You should report your injury to your employer as soon as you are able so that your employer can notify their insurance company. It’s crucial that you report as soon as possible because insurance companies will often try to deny workers’ compensation claims on the grounds that you didn’t report your injury to your employer on time.
Under Pennsylvania law, you must file a report within 21 days of the injury. In some cases, you may have up to 120 days to file a report depending on the type of injury received. Many companies will have injury report forms for you to fill out. Others require an informal written notice, and some may simply ask for an oral report.
2. Get medical attention
You should seek medical attention as soon as possible, especially in the case of an emergency. During your visit, it’s important to notify your doctor that this is a work-related injury so that they are aware of your situation. They may be able to support your case so that your employer’s insurance company accepts your claim.
In Pennsylvania, injured workers are required to see the company doctor for the first visit unless it’s an emergency. After that, your employer has 90 days to provide you with six additional health care providers that you have access to. They must also inform you of your rights as an injured worker. If they fail to do this, you may seek treatment from any doctor.
3. Keep records
Workers’ compensation benefits may reimburse you for any expenses related to your injury. Keeping records of all your medical expenses, treatment costs and therapy programs will make it easier to track the amount of money spent on recovery. This might also include extensive travel mileage if you have to seek treatment more than 100 miles away.
You will also want to keep record of the number of days that you missed at work. After the first seven days, you may be eligible to receive wage compensation for the days you continue to miss due to your injuries.
While these steps may seem straightforward, a workers’ compensation case can be confusing and stressful. Don’t wait to file a workers’ compensation claim — taking immediate steps can help you get the benefits you may need in your time of recovery.